iPhone 11 and 11 Pro review: 2 months later



In September, Apple announced the iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max as follow-ups to last year’s iPhone XR, XS and XS Max respectively. The new phones pack a new ultrawide-angle camera, an A13 processor, Night mode for photos and iOS 13. In a season filled with new phone releases like the Samsung Galaxy Note 10 and the Google Pixel 4, the iPhone 11 impressed us early on with improved battery life on the higher-end Pro models and one of the best all-around camera systems found on any phone today. But the launch was soured by various software bugs in early versions of iOS 13.

Over the past two months, I’ve been using the iPhone 11 as my daily driver and the 11 Pro as my work phone. During that time we’ve done in-depth tests dropping the phones, submerging them underwater and comparing their cameras to other phones.

Here’s what I think.

Subscribe to CNET:
CNET playlists:
Download the new CNET app:
Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:
Follow us on Instagram:

41 thoughts on “iPhone 11 and 11 Pro review: 2 months later

  • November 25, 2019 at 11:52 am
    Permalink

    OnePlus 7t can be purchased for £550 brand new that's value for money. How did you not mention that

  • November 25, 2019 at 11:54 am
    Permalink

    What about security on both phones is one better same as iPhone 6 ??

  • November 25, 2019 at 11:57 am
    Permalink

    It's embarassing to hear in a specialized review that in everyday life the 11 and the pro displays are both OK. MIND it's all relative to the price tag, just compare with competitions that has OLED WQHD for half price of the regular 11, and you can still pick older generation high end devices, iPhones as well.
    I understood the point you made about people not having them side by side, but you must know that in very high light environments the OLEDs on the pros shine – while to watch some content on the regular 11 LCD you have to cast a shadows over it. Most of all, pitch black in very dark environments is game changer. Also the lowest brightness is lower on the Pros than the regular dude, I'd say also in HDR contents the difference is noticeable but most for a combination of the previous factors. And you don't get most of the advantages of the new dark mode. Still it's a very good LCD, arguably the best on a phone (how mahy saw them all in person, anyway?). My point is that you miss our on features getting the iPhone 11. For that money it's a no brainer to take the pro if you want a good iPhone experience that includes all the visual package.
    Display is the biggest difference between the 11 and the 11 Pro/max, that price tag for an LCD panel is obnoxious for a phone that will live most in 2020. I suggest you visit an optometrist.

    OH AND THE ************ 64GB SIZING!

  • November 25, 2019 at 12:28 pm
    Permalink

    Being an iPhone 11 user it is shame that the phone lens have a pretty bad flares

  • November 25, 2019 at 12:41 pm
    Permalink

    Interesting that CNET and Pocketnow north came out with “iPhone 11: 2 months later” video within a day of each other. Is this a new reviewing trend?

  • November 25, 2019 at 1:20 pm
    Permalink

    I’m happy with iPhone 11.

  • November 25, 2019 at 2:11 pm
    Permalink

    * Triple Lights in the right corner *
    HMM, IS THAT VIDEO ABOUT IPHONE 11 PRO?

  • November 25, 2019 at 2:11 pm
    Permalink

    I respect you not put case on phone ! And your opinion same with mine only add premium looks and tele photo and screen resolution in pro

  • November 25, 2019 at 2:23 pm
    Permalink

    I know a lot of Pro Photogs that just use their new iPhone for work🤦‍♂️

  • November 25, 2019 at 3:36 pm
    Permalink

    the select all popup is sooo annoying. its not the hardware, since i have a 6s and its happening to me

  • November 25, 2019 at 5:13 pm
    Permalink

    I don't care what anyone says. There is no sane reason(other than pure profit) that a phone should cost $1000+. There are no mind-blowing features that justify that price compared to when iPhones were $500 a few years ago. For the price to be double, there should be some TRULY monumental leap forward. There is not.

  • November 25, 2019 at 6:29 pm
    Permalink

    Thank you for mentioning the header when u r writing a note.. is annoying

  • November 25, 2019 at 8:02 pm
    Permalink

    I have the 11 pro and the front camera has android quality it’s actually blurry

  • November 25, 2019 at 8:05 pm
    Permalink

    Today I’m get the iPhone 11 pro humans I’m just waiting to get here !!!

  • November 25, 2019 at 8:33 pm
    Permalink

    I’d appreciate a video comparison between the iPhone 11 and the XR since you’ve had time to use both. An honest raw review thanks n love the work n effort

  • November 25, 2019 at 8:40 pm
    Permalink

    I have a xs max is it worth upgrading to 11 pro max?

  • November 25, 2019 at 8:50 pm
    Permalink

    the truth is it is like any recent iOS13 device, just faster and a better camera.

  • November 25, 2019 at 10:40 pm
    Permalink

    Only non-photographers think ultra wide camera is a gimmick. It's a must have. Before the iPhone 11, I carried around a 18mm wide angle lens adapter for the iPhone X and now I don't have to.

  • November 25, 2019 at 10:44 pm
    Permalink

    The standard iPhone 11 has NO fast charger in the box, whereas the 11 pro HAS AN INCLUDED FAST CHARGER.
    The iPhone 11 has up to 256GB storage. So if 256GB is not enough, you are FORCED to pay $1349 for the iPhone 11 Pro with 512GB. The LCD display on the iPhone 11 gives you MUCH MORE EYE STRAIN than the iPhone 11 Pro's OLED.

  • November 25, 2019 at 11:38 pm
    Permalink

    My wife’s iPhone 11 Pro Max has scuffs on the back/lower right hand side of the device where the matte finish has worn off.

  • November 25, 2019 at 11:41 pm
    Permalink

    Ooh I want the 11 in black with black silicone case and airpods 2nd gen because the air pod pros are disgusting looking, hey my personal preference… 😂

  • November 26, 2019 at 12:36 am
    Permalink

    I’d suggest getting the the 11 Pro Max, so you have the best of all of it, and don’t feel like you settled until next year. Get the best of the best, and don’t settle unless the features have minimal difference. The brightness, and battery on my 11 Pro Max have been the best I’ve ever had on an iPhone.

  • November 26, 2019 at 1:00 am
    Permalink

    Lmao that MKHB intro tho

  • November 26, 2019 at 1:50 am
    Permalink

    When he drop test them phones I got instantly mad for a sec but it's not my phones lol😂😂.

  • November 26, 2019 at 3:36 am
    Permalink

    His sim is in the Pro. Think about it…………………..yep.

  • November 26, 2019 at 5:30 am
    Permalink

    Bro a live in Belize which would take me a year saving to buy that fone just give me them if you don’t like them

Comments are closed.