New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?



Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it — everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new …

20 thoughts on “New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

  • March 28, 2019 at 3:00 pm
    Permalink

    This is a really good review. As a professional photographer I want to have the iPad do more so I can use it for travel assignments that are one to two days. It would be great to tether to it without needing a laptop. Plus editing one photo that client needs while you're on the road, it can't been done on an iPad like you can do it on a laptop. You're 100% right, you have to adjust to the computer, the iPad is fun and I have an older iPad Pro but I really only use it for email and looking over documents.

  • March 29, 2019 at 9:46 am
    Permalink

    I really want it instead of getting a laptop but they made it just such a hard choice with the software

  • March 30, 2019 at 10:23 am
    Permalink

    First time to see dami lee in person like in person video person

  • March 30, 2019 at 12:39 pm
    Permalink

    Great review, man! I'm watching this on a Samsung tablet that I love.

  • March 30, 2019 at 9:59 pm
    Permalink

    If you want to do operations which you simply cant do on iOs, just use MacOS … They will never make changes like you mentioned just because they dont want to and then the Macbook would be a nonscense to buy.. Just learn more about Apple before any other review

  • March 31, 2019 at 7:16 am
    Permalink

    its a tablet why do people think it will replace a laptop or desk top computer.sorry the power might be there but it just wont replace them

  • April 4, 2019 at 1:59 am
    Permalink

    Imagine a nuclear reactor powers a fishing boat; this is that.

  • April 5, 2019 at 12:51 am
    Permalink

    So I’m deciding between the iPad Pro and the cheapest Mac. I’m a blogger and don’t need anything too fancy, but I need to be able to save and edit photos and work on my website. Suggestions? Max I want to spend is $1200. I’m open to Windows based option but I’m a fan of my iPhone and how it operates. Portability is great but not a deciding factor so that’s why I’m considering a desktop.

  • April 8, 2019 at 10:45 pm
    Permalink

    Does mouse work with this?

  • April 9, 2019 at 1:44 am
    Permalink

    I love your reviews! You always knock it out of the park! The verge production team is simply unparalleled

  • April 9, 2019 at 2:05 am
    Permalink

    What about an OLED display? Think the fall models will have it?

  • April 11, 2019 at 4:12 pm
    Permalink

    Ya “the verge” I really don’t enjoy the same reporter reporting all of apples main flagships, change it up give us some other opinions from a range of reporters not just the same reporter covering the same topic every year…

  • April 12, 2019 at 12:05 pm
    Permalink

    Excellent Review, you echo my sentiments and it's one of the main reasons I am angry with Apple. They lack a real OS on iPad for computer users … it is still just a second class media device with some great capabilities. They have deliberately hamstrung this tech because they knw it will replace their computers in a minute if they were more robust OS wise.

  • April 14, 2019 at 3:18 am
    Permalink

    I love to draw, and i was always dragging around hundreds of pencils, erasers, inks, watercolors, etc for years. I received this with the keyboard and pencil for Christmas, and I now can just sit down on the couch, bed, table, anywhere, and draw

  • April 14, 2019 at 8:20 am
    Permalink

    I have it and it definitely makes my heart flutter. Love it.

  • April 14, 2019 at 11:03 am
    Permalink

    It’d be cool if the iPad Pro was just an experiment to see if the tablet’s CPU can beat current MBPs. Hence we’d see MBP mounting the same specs or faster in Late 2019 or 2020—given the fact that macOS needs to be adapted to run on a different CPU. Hell, they could also go with macOS on iPad Pro

Comments are closed.