RED Hydrogen One review: a $1,300 mess of a phone



RED’s Hydrogen One smartphone has been hyped for over a year. It has a “holographic” display and captures 3D photos and videos. It also has an expansion …

47 thoughts on “RED Hydrogen One review: a $1,300 mess of a phone

  • October 29, 2018 at 12:00 pm
    Permalink

    What do you think a RED phone should’ve looked like?

  • November 11, 2018 at 1:10 am
    Permalink

    Htc did this almost a decade ago with its 3d Evo. Do we have amnesia?

  • November 12, 2018 at 1:37 am
    Permalink

    … why didn't they just make a cinema phone. Why would a camera company go into the phone game and not make a cinema phone? It's like if Chromebooks didn't come with any way to run a google search.

  • November 13, 2018 at 11:52 pm
    Permalink

    Mine is on the way but I have a question for those already purchased it: its improving with software upgrades?

  • November 15, 2018 at 3:46 am
    Permalink

    Thank you for this review. It's harsh, but it gives good points to work on.

  • November 17, 2018 at 4:30 pm
    Permalink

    How can anyone take this garbage seriously after finding out that the "metal", and "carbon fibre" are cheap stickers. The "huge speakers" are also cheap stickers. A joke!

  • November 18, 2018 at 9:07 am
    Permalink

    At least they tried. 😐

    Seeing as everyone seems to have given up on the 3d market. 😕 maybe in the future will get something much much better.

  • November 19, 2018 at 3:19 am
    Permalink

    I would of really liked to see a 3d display i hate the fact that tvs stop using 3d i still have one from 2012 and love it

  • November 26, 2018 at 4:51 am
    Permalink

    if you have not seen it on a computer then you will not see it on a cellphone

  • November 28, 2018 at 5:44 pm
    Permalink

    Diverge. We were all deceived. Not a smartphone. It's failure.

  • December 3, 2018 at 2:12 am
    Permalink

    Guess I'll be keeping my HTC M10 for one more year, much to Verizon's dismay I'm sure. There is no 2018 phone that makes me want to give up my Dev M10. Maybe 2019!

  • December 9, 2018 at 12:01 am
    Permalink

    Is it allowed to call something "holographic" or "hoverboard" when it actually is something totally else?!

  • December 20, 2018 at 7:21 am
    Permalink

    So, it is bsically like my evo 3d, just with higher resolution?

  • December 21, 2018 at 10:29 am
    Permalink

    Hey look a headphone jack just like all the other phones except for the iPhone

  • December 25, 2018 at 2:48 pm
    Permalink

    I would buy it if it is a smart watch with an hologram projector like that.

  • December 28, 2018 at 4:51 pm
    Permalink

    Another YouTube hater… Dude, how many phones have you and The Verge manufactured?

  • December 30, 2018 at 7:57 pm
    Permalink

    I have the phone and it is a great phone and it's durability is key and was the entire reason why I bought the phone I'm very happy with this phone

  • January 3, 2019 at 1:19 am
    Permalink

    This is the first review where I understand what this phone is like without having seen it.

  • January 14, 2019 at 6:37 pm
    Permalink

    Probably the best phone i've ever owned! If you a film maker, this is a great tool. It's hard to drop the phone no matter how your're holding it cause of the side grips. Don't know how he is using the phone but the clarity is amazing… Now if you paid 1k for a iphone, then you'll feel stupid when you realize how it doesn't come close to standing up to this phone… You just have to know what your doing.

  • January 23, 2019 at 10:46 am
    Permalink

    They should get out of the phone business. Not sure why they even entered.

  • January 28, 2019 at 6:38 pm
    Permalink

    Maybe it's more of a projection phone but it must have an awesome fast shutter speed to make it holographic.

  • February 13, 2019 at 3:24 am
    Permalink

    Been using this phone snice day one this the phone is way better it good

  • February 14, 2019 at 5:51 am
    Permalink

    Glad I seen this and other reviews about it thought about getting it until then

  • February 19, 2019 at 11:59 pm
    Permalink

    Still more coherent than anything your legal team issues.

  • March 8, 2019 at 4:34 am
    Permalink

    okay so this was a fluke, lets see if their next gen phone has the issues fixed.

  • March 8, 2019 at 11:38 pm
    Permalink

    I wouldn't call it a mess, it just has a bad gimmick. The problem is people thought a company that does not make cellphones, displays or cellphone cameras would make some kind of 3D future phone.

  • March 20, 2019 at 6:53 pm
    Permalink

    Great gave me allot to think if I do get this phone it will be when the price is over half of what it is no. I'll just stick with my paid for Moto Z another gimmicky piece of tech not all it was cracked up to be.

  • March 28, 2019 at 7:21 pm
    Permalink

    I guess they figured if you really wanted a RED movie camera and couldn't afford it, this would be the next best thing.

  • April 14, 2019 at 6:09 am
    Permalink

    It's actually a freakin awesome phone. Amazing updates. Amazing 3d holographic screen (4 view), amazing 2d photos and vid. Insane battery life. Best phone I've ever owned.

Comments are closed.