Samsung DeX Station – Hands On Review



Samsung’s DeX Station envisions a future where your smartphone can replace your desktop. It’s capable enough to work with for short periods of time, but if you don’t have a Galaxy S8, you’re better off with a Chromebook or a low-cost Windows laptop.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS

AVAILABLE AT:

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS

DT Daily:
DT Originals:
DT Podcasts:

FOLLOW US!

19 thoughts on “Samsung DeX Station – Hands On Review

  • June 2, 2017 at 3:44 pm
    Permalink

    was hoping for the guy who said stupendous twice in a review to review this

  • June 2, 2017 at 5:45 pm
    Permalink

    Does this works only with a Samsung phone or can you use other brands like Huawei P9?

  • June 2, 2017 at 7:40 pm
    Permalink

    This is great innovation! It's not really there yet but this can become awesome in 3 years. A potential desktop killer. It would be awesome if Apple would do this too but they will never cannibalize their Macs.

  • June 2, 2017 at 11:32 pm
    Permalink

    The concept is great but poorly executed. Why? Cause Samsung could have easily licensed chrome os and stored it on the phone on a separate storage allocation. By having chrome os means you can have functional applications to use and not only scaled android apps.

  • June 7, 2017 at 2:29 pm
    Permalink

    Samsung needs to fix the little screen thing, To small

  • August 20, 2017 at 10:06 pm
    Permalink

    i feel like he missed the whole point of the device and just complained

  • September 3, 2017 at 1:16 am
    Permalink

    I would have watched the whole video but I noticed he doesn't hold doors open for women. That tells me this video won't be worth the time.

  • September 30, 2017 at 4:21 pm
    Permalink

    It kind of makes me laugh, you can only imagine how much of a nightmare this product must be for the team working on it… trying to adjust everything to work basically on a desktop… I laugh because Microsoft had to do the same thing but backward with Windows 8… imagine having to weave in touch, tiny screen navigation, and have everything not screw up all the previous stuff that already works fine. Fail for both. Thought I think MS is finally getting 'touch' and how apps work better nailed down in Win 10. Hard stuff. I think Windows is better poised to storm into the 'Desktop in your pocket' game, with a full version of Window running on a device like the S8, than you replacing everything from Windows on a Chrome based S8 device.

  • October 7, 2017 at 11:22 pm
    Permalink

    Just got the DEX hooked up with my note 8. Love it. Got my PC, Mac pro and the DEX hooked up to one monitor.

  • December 7, 2017 at 9:24 pm
    Permalink

    Who is this guy? He knows nothing about DEX, please do some research before reviewing anything

  • April 1, 2018 at 10:08 pm
    Permalink

    A lot has changed since you made this video…could you do an update?
    You can include the new interface with Oreo. A majority of the apps are optimized for full screen. No additional apps (DeX Max) required. Plus there are a ton more of apps being created for the DeX. I have been using it exclusively for the last 2 months and I am quite happy.

  • August 3, 2018 at 5:26 pm
    Permalink

    Do you have to use the ethernet port or can you just use your phone

  • December 29, 2018 at 4:00 pm
    Permalink

    can i watch the screen in landscape mode so I can watch movies?

  • May 2, 2019 at 11:43 pm
    Permalink

    on my dex top on my note 8 in 2019 i luv it great video

Comments are closed.