Samsung UBD-K8500 4K Blu-ray Player – Review



Until Samsung sees a little competition, its UBD-K8500 Ultra HD Blu-ray player is the only game in town, but even when competing players arrive, it will probably still be the best overall choice.

The Samsung K8500 4K UHD Blu-ray player delivers the highest quality image to your 4K UHD TV. It also supports High Dynamic Range and Wide Color Gamut.

The 4K UHD Blu-ray player carries an early-adopter price tag of $400, but expect that to drop as these disc players become the standard.

Read the full review:

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS

CHECK OUT OUR LATEST PODCAST

GTIN: 00887276134246

28 thoughts on “Samsung UBD-K8500 4K Blu-ray Player – Review

  • September 24, 2017 at 12:05 am
    Permalink

    Do you have to have a 4k tv? I mean I know you have to have it in order to watch it in 4k..I mean technically can you still hook it up to your 1080p tv and it will still show picture?

  • September 26, 2017 at 12:03 am
    Permalink

    Can anyone help me i have a brand new ultra hd blu ray but it wont turn on is there a secret way to activate it

  • September 26, 2017 at 4:45 pm
    Permalink

    Hi , great video! I have a question for you – do you know if any UHD players allow for full screen , I want to get rid of the black bars
    kindest regards , thanks

  • October 15, 2017 at 2:10 am
    Permalink

    $400? Lol. It's now less than $200 in less than a year. Also, the new model can't even play 3-D.

  • October 16, 2017 at 3:26 am
    Permalink

    29 and even I know streaming is crap. When I watch a show or movie on HBO in it's HD glory, then it stops, freezes, then resumes at about 480p like I don't notice…

    Also, using the term "Millennials" to mean anyone younger than you is Cringe as fuck.

  • November 27, 2017 at 6:11 am
    Permalink

    I hate that info bar on the top of the screen when you push Pause anyway to disable it?

  • February 1, 2018 at 2:35 am
    Permalink

    +DigitalTrends Can you turn the HDR function off?

  • March 18, 2018 at 5:58 am
    Permalink

    I'm a millennial and I love UHD blu-rays and collecting them, the people in your office are just plebs.

  • April 28, 2018 at 8:41 pm
    Permalink

    Samsung is junk, bought a bluray surround and it quit working after 18 months Paid $600

  • May 11, 2018 at 9:02 am
    Permalink

    Der PCM Ton funktioniert bei UHD Dateien nicht so richtig:

  • May 15, 2018 at 12:35 pm
    Permalink

    Is this UHD-player compatible with the Onkyo HT-S3800 5.1-Channel Home Cinema Receiver/Speaker Package?

  • June 27, 2018 at 12:01 pm
    Permalink

    $400 The price drop is amazing after all these years. I'm looking for a cheap 4k player and this popped up at £120.

  • July 10, 2018 at 9:06 pm
    Permalink

    Just bought this today on Clearance for 62 euro lol not a bad buy.

  • July 17, 2018 at 4:27 am
    Permalink

    We buy a 4k blu ray disc for some reasons like uncompressed video,a sense of ownership,disc extras and of course watch the movie again if its ur favorite movie lol.

  • December 1, 2018 at 10:07 am
    Permalink

    disc player support Dolby Atmos?

  • January 21, 2019 at 3:25 am
    Permalink

    I have owned this player for 3 years now. After only about 2 months the player stopped playing 4ks and or would play for an hr then start hanging up with no volume. Try skipping scenes but it does it through the entire film. All mint discs even straight out of the box. This player isn't worth a fuck and it was the worst gd money I ever spent. I will never buy another samsung product. Fuck samsung pos. 400$ player wasn't worth 50$.
    It also has a loud humming sound like the pos is about to fall apart. Fuck Samsung. I work my ads off id like to enjoy a gd movie when I want. T hats the entire reason for shelling out the 5 grand for a system. Kiss my ass Samsung. Finna upgrade to a Sony in the next few wks.

  • February 7, 2019 at 11:22 pm
    Permalink

    I regret buying this EVER. We purchased that and several 4k movie. And it WOULD NOT PLAY NOT ONE DISK!

  • May 13, 2019 at 8:57 am
    Permalink

    I've had nothing but problems with the Samsung Blu-Ray and 4K players my K 8500 has more problems than you can shake a stick at from on now I'm going Sony

Comments are closed.