Sonos Playbase – Hands On Review



New from Sonos, the PlayBase is a soundbase for your home theater, and it’s certainly one to consider. Delivering 3 channel Surround sound the PlayBase connects to your TV and of also other Sonos speakers like the Play:1 or Sonos SUB to create a true 5.1 Dolby system.

Sonos isn’t first to the soundbase game, but they’re playing it better than anyone else. Find out why we’re calling the Playbase the best alternative to a soundbar you can get in our hands on review.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS

AVAILABLE AT:

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS

DT Daily:
DT Originals:
DT Podcasts:

FOLLOW US!

15 thoughts on “Sonos Playbase – Hands On Review

  • April 11, 2017 at 4:55 am
    Permalink

    Good review….too bad it's an ugly awkward looking device.

  • April 11, 2017 at 4:41 pm
    Permalink

    Could do without the background music, but thanks for the review!

  • May 4, 2017 at 9:22 pm
    Permalink

    You've covered everything except actually letting us hear the difference. Shall we just take your word for it?

  • May 7, 2017 at 1:18 am
    Permalink

    Such a terrible product. They should of went with HDMI+ARC instead of Optical… It's 2017

  • June 14, 2017 at 8:00 pm
    Permalink

    Returned my sonos due to having to much bullshit to get to work. Best Buy miss informed me on installation.

  • August 11, 2018 at 11:30 pm
    Permalink

    how do i stop music and start tv sound on app???

  • November 1, 2018 at 2:30 pm
    Permalink

    Yea, I'm kindof done with Sonos. It's a great concept, and the sound quality is well above average, but they've priced themselves out of the mainstream market. I'd pay maybe 300 for this unit, for example. I most certainly won't pay twice that. And that goes for pretty much all of their products. Not to mention, I'm still PO'd about discontinuing the remotes in favor of a stinking phone app

  • December 29, 2018 at 4:02 pm
    Permalink

    not add 2.2hdcp capable hdmi and coaxial? I prefer more options than less…

  • April 4, 2019 at 7:17 am
    Permalink

    I just purchased a Playbase with 2 play 1s and a sub running on my LG Oled 65" The system packs a great punch, The downfall the only option is Optical, if i purchase a Optical coverter to HDMi and converted Optical to HDMi threw my ARC will that enhance the sound quality?

Comments are closed.