Sony X950G 4K HDR TV – Hands-On Review



The Sony X950G is the best 4K TV the brand makes now that the Z9 Master Series is busy covering Sony’s 8K ambitions. That being the case, the X950G has some big shoes to fill as a 4K flagship TV. With Sony’s X1 Ultimate processor, the chances that we’ll get excellent picture quality from the X950G are very good, but with the larger 75- and 85-inch models sporting Sony’s X-Wide Angle tech, how will black levels look? We dig into a 75-inch X950G for this review focused on picture quality.

Sony X950G –

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS

In our studio:
BDI Corridor Media Console:

Video gear we use:
Panasonic GH5
Lumix 12-60mm Camera Lens
Sony A7iii
Sony E 50mm F1.8 OSS
Konova K3 Camera Slider
Godox SL-60W
Neewer 660 LED Video Light
Benro S6 Video Tripod

DT Deals:

Digital Trends may earn a commission when you buy through links on our channels.

FOLLOW US!

31 thoughts on “Sony X950G 4K HDR TV – Hands-On Review

  • June 10, 2019 at 4:31 am
    Permalink

    Great review, thanks.

    Aaand, didn't scream "hey google" or "ok google" a single time. Good job.

  • June 10, 2019 at 4:56 am
    Permalink

    What about the terrible blooming in dim lighting?

  • June 10, 2019 at 5:32 am
    Permalink

    Had it been any other brand awesome but it’s Sony so Pass will stick with Samsung.

  • June 10, 2019 at 6:34 am
    Permalink

    With the OLED model, one can have even better "X wide angle" viewing, as well as vastly better black levels and superior contrast without bloom… Rich dark colors without backlight blue/grey push etc. etc….. But yes, peak brightness is lower, and careful of that BURN IN!

  • June 10, 2019 at 7:33 am
    Permalink

    How is it flagship if 8k is flagship. There's only 1 number 1

  • June 10, 2019 at 7:47 am
    Permalink

    Nice images from the most corrupted country in EU! Bulgaria!

  • June 10, 2019 at 9:18 am
    Permalink

    I wish you can trade your old model and pay the difference

  • June 10, 2019 at 9:56 am
    Permalink

    This is a misleading advertising of Sony.
    This tv is a copycat of the x900F.
    Look it up on the Sony site products and compare it.
    X eide angle only available from 75 inch.
    Its no worth to pay that ammount of your money for a copycat from 2017 model X900F.
    The Z9D and the Xe9305 are still the best tv's and there from 2017.
    Dont be stupid people,this is misleading.

  • June 10, 2019 at 10:11 am
    Permalink

    So which one is best among LG C9, SAMSUNG Q90 & SONY X950G?

  • June 10, 2019 at 10:36 am
    Permalink

    Getting mine delivered on Wednesday & this review has made me look forward to it even more!

  • June 10, 2019 at 11:17 am
    Permalink

    I was surprised at the lack of detail in the HDR test. And no comment on the tv's sound?

  • June 10, 2019 at 12:38 pm
    Permalink

    Coincidence : just yesterday I watched this bulgaria video

  • June 10, 2019 at 12:55 pm
    Permalink

    my god i felt watching a lecture in encoding.

  • June 10, 2019 at 2:25 pm
    Permalink

    Why is this video titled "Best Sony 4K TV"? Surely that would be the A9G OLED.

  • June 10, 2019 at 3:02 pm
    Permalink

    Choice between 82" Q9FN or 85" x950g?

  • June 10, 2019 at 4:04 pm
    Permalink

    I love these reviews. Keep it up. Would also like an informative video about the state of 4K TVs versus projectors in the same price point. Thanks

  • June 10, 2019 at 5:00 pm
    Permalink

    Caleb..is the X950g worth it to not get an X900f or even an X900e, not that the price difference but a buck is a buck? Thx

  • June 10, 2019 at 5:44 pm
    Permalink

    Sadly Sony messed up the prices in Europe and it’s much more sensible to go with a higher end OLED TV.

  • June 10, 2019 at 9:22 pm
    Permalink

    There is no best Sony tv!

  • June 10, 2019 at 9:39 pm
    Permalink

    What current LED tv would you recommend for a dark room environment? You mentioned that there are possibly better options that the Sony X950G for that environment.

Comments are closed.